PORT HAWKESBURY TOWN COUNCIL SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING

Minutes of Meeting Monday, March 16, 2015

Present

Mayor, Billy Joe MacLean
Deputy Mayor, Joe Janega
Councilor, Brenda Chisholm-Beaton
Councilor, Bert Lewis
Chief Administrative Officer, Maris Freimanis
Director of Finance, Erin MacEachen
Director Marketing, Recreation, Tourism & Culture, Paula Davis
Town Solicitor, Larry Evans

Regrets

Councilor, Dr. Trevor Boudreau

1. Call to Order

A Special Public Meeting of the Port Hawkesbury Town Council was held in the Shannon Studio, PHCC, Monday, March 16, 2015 and called to order by Mayor MacLean at 7:00 p.m.

2. Inter-Municipal Agreement – Eastern-Strait Regional Enterprise Network (ESREN)

MOVED by Councilor B. Lewis and SECONDED by Councilor B. Chisholm-Beaton "To enter into and sign the Eastern-Strait Regional Enterprise Network Inter-Municipal Agreement as presented".

MOTION CARRIED.

Mayor MacLean was in support of the motion. One nay was recorded from Deputy Mayor J. Janega.

3. Eastern-Strait Regional Enterprise Network Liaison and Oversight Committee (ESREN LOC) Elected Official Appointment

MOVED by Councilor B. Lewis and SECONDED by Deputy Mayor J. Janega "To appoint Councilor B. Chisholm-Beaton as the elected official to sit on the Eastern-Strait Regional Enterprise Network Liaison and Oversight Committee". MOTION CARRIED.

CAO, M. Freimanis stated the CAO's and elected officials of the ESREN LOC will meet for briefing and the hand-off of the work to date. A joint session will take place to begin the process of recruitment of members to the ESREN Board of Directors and discussions on an environmental scan, the formulation and approval of regional strategies, and investment readiness. There will be an advertisement for a citizen appointment to the Board of Directors with in-depth selection criteria for qualified business people interested in promoting and improving economic development in the region.

4. Adjournment

MOVED by Councilor B. Chisholm-Beaton and SECONDED by Councilor B. Lewis "To adjourn the Special Public Meeting at 7:20 p.m.". MOTION CARRIED.

March 31, 2015

Date Approved by:

Maris Freimanis, CAO

Recorded by:

Dawna MacDonald