## PORT HAWKESBURY TOWN COUNCIL PUBLIC MEETING

## **Swearing In Ceremony**

# Minutes of Meeting Monday, November 1, 2016

#### **Present**

Mayor, Billy Joe MacLean
Incoming Mayor, Brenda Chisholm-Beaton
Incumbent Councilor, Trevor Boudreau
Incoming Councilor, Hughie MacDougall
Incoming Councilor, Mark MacIver
Incoming Councilor, Jeremy White
Chief Administrative Officer, Maris Freimanis

#### Guests

Her Honour Judge Laurie Halfpenny-MacQuarrie Retiring Councilor, Bert Lewis Incoming Chief Administrative Officer, Terry Doyle

#### Regrets

Joe Janega

### 1. Call to Order

The Swearing In Ceremony of the 2016 Port Hawkesbury Town Council was held in the Shannon Studio, Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre, Monday, November 1, 2016. It was called to order by Mayor MacLean at 7:00 p.m. Mayor MacLean extended welcoming remarks to incoming Mayor Brenda Chisholm-Beaton, Council, guests and members of the gallery.

#### 2. Report on Municipal Election 2016

CAO, M. Freimanis provided a brief report on the results of the October 15, 2016 Town of Port Hawkesbury Municipal Election:

Brenda Chisholm-Beaton	-		Mayor (Acclaimed)
Trevor Boudreau	-	914	<b>Councilor Elected</b>
Hughie MacDougall	-	787	<b>Councilor Elected</b>
Mark MacIver	-	780	<b>Councilor Elected</b>
Jeremy White	-	778	<b>Councilor Elected</b>

The total number of names on the Final List of Electors was 2674 electors. The total number of electors who voted were 1451.

#### 3. Oaths of Allegiance and of Office

Her Honour Judge Laurie Halfpenny-MacQuarrie administered the Oaths of Allegiance and of Office to:

- Mayor Brenda Chisholm-Beaton
- Councilor Trevor Boudreau
- Councilor Hughie MacDougall
- Councilor Mark MacIver
- Councilor Jeremy White

#### 4. Remarks and Gift Presentations

Outgoing Mayor Billy Joe MacLean performed the Chain of Office hand off to Mayor Brenda Chisholm-Beaton. Mayor Chisholm-Beaton thanked Billy Joe MacLean, Joe Janega, and Bert Lewis for their contributions to the Town. She extended welcoming remarks to each member of the new Council and stated she looked forward to working with them over the next four years. Mayor B. Chisholm-Beaton thanked Maris Freimanis for his contributions and welcomed Terry Doyle as the new Chief Administrative Officer for the Town of Port Hawkesbury. A gift presentation to Billy Joe MacLean, Bert Lewis, Joe Janega, and Her Honour Judge Laurie Halfpenny-MacQuarrie took place.

### 5. Adjournment

The Swearing In Ceremony adjourned at 7:45 p.m. A photo session of and reception followed.

November 1, 2016

Date Approved by:

Maris Freimanis, P.Eng.
Chief Administrative Officer

Dawna MacDonald