PORT HAWKESBURY TOWN COUNCIL

SWEARING IN CEREMONY

Minutes of Ceremony Tuesday, January 8, 2019

Present

Mayor, Brenda Chisholm-Beaton
Deputy Mayor Mark MacIver
Councilor, Trevor Boudreau
Councilor, Hughie MacDougall
Incoming Councilor, Blaine MacQuarrie
Chief Administrative Officer, Terry Doyle
Director of Finance, Erin MacEachen
Director Marketing, Recreation, Tourism & Culture, Paula Davis
Town Solicitor, Patrick Lamey

1. Call to Order

The Swearing In Ceremony for Incoming Councilor, Blaine MacQuarrie was held in Shannon Studio, Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre, Tuesday, January 8, 2019. It was called to order by Mayor Brenda Chisholm-Beaton at 6:30 p.m.

Mayor Chisholm-Beaton extended welcoming remarks to incoming Councilor Blaine MacQuarrie, Council, staff, and members of the gallery.

2. Report on the Special Election for One Councilor – December 15, 2018 – CAO, T. Doyle

CAO, T. Doyle provided a report on the results of ballots cast for each candidate from the Special Election for One Councilor:

Blaine MacQuarrie - 476 Ballots Cast Councilor Elected

David F. Ryan - 359 Ballots Cast
Michele Tabensky - 289 Ballots Cast
Maris Freimanis - 103 Ballots Cast

A total number of 2750 electors comprised the revised list of electors.

3. Oath of Allegiance and of Office

Her Worship Mayor B. Chisholm-Beaton administered the Oath of Allegiance and of Office to Councilor Blaine MacQuarrie.

4. Remarks from Mayor B. Chisholm-Beaton and Councilor B. MacQuarrie

Mayor Chisholm-Beaton extended congratulations and best wishes to Councilor B. MacQuarrie. Councilor MacQuarrie thanked the residents for this opportunity and stated he looks forward to working with the Mayor and Council.

A photo session and reception followed.

February 6, 2019

Date Approved by:

Terry Doyle, P.Eng.

Chief Administrative Officer

Tenare Dale

Recorded by:

Dawna MacDonald